“Sir Duke” by Stevie Wonder (1976)

4 09 2008

Oh man.  Stevie.  I could write a long essay about his music and its importance to me.  But I won’t, I’ll stick with this song for now.  But I’m sure to post many more tracks from this idol of mine.

“Music is a world within itself
With a language we all understand
With an equal opportunity
For all to sing, dance and clap their hands”

This track is from one of the best pop/rock/soul albums of all time, in my opinion, “Songs in the Key of Life.”  He had already been a superstar for years, but this album was just a slam dunk.

“Sir Duke” is an ode to musicians who made great music.  The title refers to Duke Ellington, a legendary composer, bandleader, and musician, but Stevie also mentions Ella Fitzgerald, Satchmo (Louis Armstrong), and, I think, Glenn Miller.

This song just grabs me by the spine and moves my body to the beat, and let me tell you:  I cannot dance.  Play this song at your wedding and you will find out just HOW embarrassing your old man can be!

The fantastic horn section proves, once again, that NOTHING rocks like a tight horn arrangement played by musicians of this caliber.

Put a good copy of this song on a good sound system, turn it up, and see if “you can feel it all over.”

Mr. Wonder is one of my heroes. I hope you find many heroes in your life!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

