“Won’t Get Fooled Again” by The Who (1971)

21 10 2008

Nothing I write can come close to capturing how important this band was (is) to me.  Let’s just say that their album “Quadrophenia” is, unequivocally, one of my top ten favorite records (but this track is from another incredible record, “Who’s Next”).  You want rock stars?  You want bold, rebellious, blistering rock and roll?  The Who did all of that.  And that was just one of their phases.

The singer:  Roger Daltry, a former sheet-metal worker and scrapper from the hood.  The drummer:  Keith Moon, a wild, unorthodox drummer who only barely contained the chaos he unleashed on the flat plane of his kit.  The bassist:  John “The Ox” Entwistle, solid but fluid and fast on the fretboard, who also played some brass on their records.

But my personal hero has always been Pete Townshend, the mad man on guitar.  Not only could he blow the asbestos off the stadium interiors, but he could write some amazing songs.  I not only devoured his music, both with The Who and his solo work, but I studied it.  I’m guessing that every guitar part I’ve ever played was just a ripoff of Pete.

Sometimes you just need to blow off some steam.  Shake something out of your system.  Maybe this can help.

(Thanks to TORGHOOVER for posting this great uber-edit version rarely seen)

I’ve heard some people describe The Who’s music as “masculine” or as mostly appealing to the male of the species.  So what?  I can see no reason why women wouldn’t really dig The Who.  But just to prove my point, I’m going to show you how diverse The Who was.  A sweet song, with Pete singing and playing the banjo, and The Ox playing a beautiful horn arrangement.  From their album “The Who By Numbers,” this is “Blue Red and Grey.”

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

