“Birdhouse in Your Soul” by They Might Be Giants (1990)

27 12 2008

When I meet other TMBG fans, I can pretty much assume that they are smart people with senses of humor and interesting music collections.  That just seems to be the case.

Their music is often surprising, but almost always bouncy, engaging, and, to me, pretty inspiring in the way they constantly play “outside the box.”  And their lyrics are fantastic, like in this song, where a night-light shaped liked a bird thinks about life as a lighthouse (the “blue canary in the outlet by the light switch” contemplating his  “primitive ancestry”):

“There’s a picture opposite me
Of my primitive ancestry
Which stood on rocky shores and kept the beaches shipwreck free
Though I respect that a lot
I’d be fired if that were my job
After killing Jason off and countless screaming Argonauts”

This track makes me smile.  Almost as much as you do.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

