“Strength” by The Alarm (1985)

14 01 2009

The Alarm is one of my favorite bands from the 1980’s.  Their music rocked and resonated with a lot of people, making great, hard-edged music steeped from punk and roots rock.  Music like a good friend who smacks you hard on the shoulder, and stays with you a while (25+ years for me).

“Strength” is a terrific track.  It makes you want to pump your fist, or at least vigorously tap your feet.  It’s raw, and it feels like nothing is held back.  And Mike Peters sings that he doesn’t just WANT a better life, he DEMANDS it.

“Give me love
Give me hope
Give me strength
Give me someone to live for!”

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

