“The Foggy Dew” performed by The Chieftains and Sinead O’Connor

17 03 2009

Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

I told you about your Irish blood, right?  Besides the great music and literature, and the knack for telling a good yarn, you have to respect the Irish for their tenacity and independent spirit.  Ireland has suffered many invasions and occupations in history, but always they survive.

“Ah, back through the glen I rode again and my heart with grief was sore
For I parted then with valiant men whom I never shall see more
But to and fro in my dreams I go and I’d kneel and pray for you,
For slavery fled, O glorious dead, When you fell in the foggy dew.”

Never ever underestimate an Irishman (or woman).


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

