“Twist In My Sobriety” by Tanita Tikaram (1988)

26 04 2009

Oh how I love the album “Ancient Heart” by Tanita Tikaram. It was a great friend during some hard times.

I adore this track, but I’ve never analyzed the lyrics or tried to determine its exact subject. I don’t think I ever really wanted to. Or needed to. I could absorb and interpret what I needed.

What I needed was its empathy. The relentless ache and anxiety that resonated so deeply at the time. Just to know that there was at least ONE other person out there that felt the same thing. A shoulder to lean on, to steady me.

Good music can do that for you.

(thanks to Diaboldik2 for the YouTube upload with lyrics, which I guess could force me to analyze the meaning now….)

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

