“Man in the Mirror” by Michael Jackson (1988)

10 07 2010

I said I was going to concentrate on “pop” music for a bit, and I couldn’t do that without posting something from the “King of Pop,” Michael Jackson. Mr. Jackson created undeniably great music, smashed barriers, and touched millions of lives around the entire planet. That’s not a lie. He is revered all over the world.

Sadly, that’s been overshadowed by the parasitic press, the social vultures, and the countless, mindless idiots who value sensation over substance.

“Innocent until proven guilty” doesn’t mean much in the public eye. And celebrities sometimes bear the brunt of that. Yeah, he was eccentric, but I believe he was merely misunderstood.

But aren’t we all? I mean, if the press was digging into your garbage for “dirt,” wouldn’t that piss you off? Or at least make you feel violated in some way?

Anyway, I can’t pick just one song to represent Mr. Jackson’s work. You should listen to it all. But I’ll pick one of my faves as a start: “Man in the Mirror.” Great song, great message, and great gratitude from me for the sonic tonic.

I think we should replace “Happy Birthday to You” with this song. If we all reflected on this message—at least once a year—maybe the world would be a better place.

“I’m starting with the man in the mirror
I’m asking him to change his ways
And no message could have been any clearer
If you wanna make the world a better place
Take a look at yourself
And then make a change”

(thanks to jennifer95828 for the upload to YouTube with lyrics)

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

