“This Woman’s Work” by Kate Bush (1989)

6 08 2010

Anyone who knows me well will tell you how much I love Kate Bush’s music. She’s known for combining her music with theater and dance, but I just adore her music. We have all of her albums, and they are all terrific.

I first heard her music while “in university” (British for “when I was in college”). And it blew me away. It’s a bit challenging, wonderfully expressive, and absolutely honest. It mesmerized me, and I’m glad it did. Because her music followed me through my life.

This track was one of her biggest “hits” in the U.S., mostly because of its inclusion on the soundtrack of “She’s Having a Baby” (a damned fine film, by the way). Her music was never really picked up by the corporate tin ears in the U.S., which is such a shame.

Not only did she write and perform the song, she directed this video as well. It’s intense, and makes use of some nice cinematic touches, like the continuous shot of the husband driving his wife to the hospital.

Imagine a birth gone wrong. Someone facing a terrifying truth.

Ms Bush captures it all. Because she’s a master of relating human emotions. And that’s why I adore her music.

“I know you have a little life in you yet
I know you have a lot of strength left”

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

