“Torn” by Ednaswap (1995)

17 07 2015

This is such a fantastic song. Most of the world knows it well from Natalie Imbruglia’s cover version, a huge, international hit in 1998, and that’s when I first heard the song.

Imbruglia’s version is great, emphasizing the melody, with a jaunty beat that makes your feet tap while you sing sweetly along:

“Nothing’s fine I’m torn
I’m all out of faith, this is how I feel
I’m cold and I’m ashamed lying naked on the floor”


Wait, what? What’s this song about? Who the hell wrote this?

“Illusion never changed into something real
I’m wide awake and I can see the perfect sky is torn
You’re a little late, I’m already torn.”


Turns out a band from LA called Ednaswap wrote the song, led by the fierce Anne Preven (who co-wrote the song, including the dagger-like lyrics). Ednaswap was a tight, terrific band that should’ve been heard by more people.

The Ednaswap version is very different from Imbruglia’s cover. Not a bouncy, wistful track, but a bluesy slow-burn dripping with resignation and barely-contained disgust (at the betrayal? At herself?).

THIS is the version I play when misery needs company. It’s great for your music toolbox, when you feel hurt or (especially) betrayed. I’d like to say that will never happen to you, but just in case, here’s “Torn”:

And just for reference, here’s Imbruglia’s cover. Still a great song, just done very differently:

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

