“I Am Not My Hair” by india.arie (with Pink) (2005)

14 08 2016

You are 13 years old, and about to start high school. I’m skeerd.

Have you read “The Lord of the Flies” yet?

We’ve watched “Heathers” together, so I know you’re at least somewhat prepared.

What I want you to know, on the deepest possible level, for your entire life, is what the great Persian poet Rumi wrote 700-ish years ago:

I am not this hair
I am not this skin
I am the soul that lives within


Brilliant. And so true.

But you wouldn’t know it in our society, would you? When you’re constantly reminded that you don’t measure up to some bullshit metric pulled out of the arses of snake oil salesmen? When you are reduced to the lowest common denominator, your appearance, detectable by only one of many senses?

So, yeah, what Rumi said. Memorize it and take it with you through life.

I like it so much, I’m going to use it in a song. An anthem, actually. Fair warning, I might post it here.

India Arie beat me to the punch. But it’s in the public domain, and I don’t think Rumi would mind. And I think Ms Arie would agree that the world could always hear more of his poetry.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

