“She Works Hard for the Money” by Donna Summer (1983)

4 12 2016

Some call Donna Summer the “Queen of Disco,” which I thought was unfair. She was a cut above and really stood out, bringing soulfulness and tenacity to the dance beats.

Summer wrote these lyrics after meeting the restroom attendant in a fancy restaurant. The attendant, a young, exhausted-looking woman, was a single mother working multiple jobs to support her kids and herself. It’s an anthem of respect:

“I met her there in the corner stand
And she wonders where she is and
It’s strange to her
Some people seem to have everything”

Your grandmother was a single mother for a few years when I was very young. I don’t know how she held it all together. I don’t know how any single mother holds it all together. I don’t think I could do it.

So please know that your old man thinks single mothers are the fiercest of the fierce in our society. I have mad respect for them. And nothing but contempt for deadbeat fathers.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

